Food Truck. truck on the bayou. Houston. Texas. Cajun. Food. Louisiana.

New Food Truck On The StrEAT: Truck on the Bayou

One of my biggest goals for this blog is to inform you with not only the best food trucks in Houston but also the newest! I will personally be doing interviews with the newest trucks in Houston to capture their experiences along with their back stories. Here is my first ever food truck spotlight post,New Truck on the StrEAT.”

Mark. Owner of Truck on the Bayou standing in front of his food truck. Houston. Texas
Mark. Owner of Truck on the Bayou standing in front of his food truck. | https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100010168869750&fref=ts

I recently ran in to Mark Baker, owner of one of the newest food trucks in Houston catering in the Energy Corridor. With less than six months he’s been able to break through the noise and get his name out there enough that he even managed to get his truck at the NRG stadium while the Houston Texans played this season.

Mark runs his truck along side his right hand man BJ. They both have learned quite a bit through out their experience in the food truck business and were more than happy to share their stories. Here is what they had to say:

1. How long have you had your business?
I started the process over 1 year ago. Our first day of sales was 11/21/15
2. What do you think of the food truck business so far?
I “think” it will be an amazing journey and proof of concept. I “know” so far, it is hard work and must be a passionate love affair; if anyone begins this journey to make money immediately, they are making a huge mistake.
3. What inspired you to start a food truck?
I’ve always loved to cook, especially for large groups. If I have a party for 20+ people, I rarely eat when others do; my enjoyment comes from watching their faces and hearing their compliments as they enjoy MY food. In June of 2015, I was an area manager for a restaurant franchise. When the franchise owners decided to sell their franchise back to the corporate owners, I was faced with 2 decisions; find another job working for someone else or do something on my own. That week, I watched the movie CHEF and decided to start my food truck business.
4. What did you do before this? What’s your background?
29 years of retail and restaurants. Many years in athletic footwear retail, art galleries and restaurant management. I’ve worked every position in a restaurant except Sommelier. 
5.What makes your concept stand out from your competition (other Cajun food)?
Misconception! Many other “cajun” restaurants and food trucks do not understand where real “CAJUN” food comes from and the history behind it. I DO!
6.What’s been your biggest challenge so far?
Building a following via social media and marketing my truck, my food and myself in order to book more gigs. Once we are in a venue and people taste my food, then the future is golden. Finding those openings has been a challenge.
7. What do you like most about the food truck business?
Freedom. My “office” location changes daily! I get to meet new people, share my passion and cultivate friendships and business relationships.
8. Do you have any advice for anyone starting their own food truck?
Do you Homework. PLAN properly. Develop a menu and let strangers taste it for free, giving you honest feedback. When you have all that done, then sit down and get serious.
9. What’s your favorite dish on your menu?
All of them! I cook EVERYTHING with love! But our gumbo and our boudin balls are amazing!
10. Is there a particular area that you stay around or you always moving?
We enjoy mobility. It affords us the opportunity to put our best dishes forward and build our future.
11. Anything else we should know about your food truck business?
Find us and try our food! You won’t be sorry! #authenticcajunfood and #foodtogeaux
customers-lined-up-at-Truck-on-the-bayou-food-truck-at-nrg-stadium-in-Houston-Texas
“Truck On The Bayou” Food Truck at NRG Stadium. | https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100010168869750&fref=ts
 Is there anything else you would like to know about “Truck on the Bayou”? Is there anything else you would like to ask Mark about the food truck business and his experiences? Are you seeking more advice? Comment below! Share and don’t forget to subscribe!

Leave a comment